Ready, set, GO!

The 3.5km journey I walk on my way home from school every day. Moravia, Costa Rica

The Holy Week marathon begins. I’m writing this, still in Costa Rica and packing, well sort of, for the trip home to begin Holy Week. It is by far the my most favourite time of the liturgical year and why I couldn’t miss it, even with this intensive language course. Besides the school, and pretty much everything else comes to a stop here in Costa Rica for the Holy Days… although for many people here it’s more about holidays!

The preparations for Holy Week, if you want it done well, can be rather intense and the actual Triduum like running a marathon. But to tell you the truth, I have never minded it at all. You go to bed exhausted but it is also exhilarating. Of course there’s always the unexpected in the midst of it all… a parishioner dies, the boiler fails (yes, in Canada we still need heat at this time of the year), that makes things a bit more stressful at times, but with the right combination that comes from prayer, preparation and a peaceful attitude it all works out. It has to… these days tell the heart of our story… our salvation through the life, suffering, death and resurrection of Jesus Christ. Like with Christmas, this is not a nostalgic recounting of an ancient story, but allowing the sacred events to unpack their power in our lives and help us find meaning in life.

I had better get packing… the car leaves at 11:00 am (Costa Rica time) for the airport.

Have a great Holy Week. Perhaps I’ll find time to blog. Speaking of blogging. The Holy See (aka: Vatican) is holding a summit for bloggers on May 2nd. Tempting as it was, I didn’t apply for one of the 150 available invitations. (Some 700 did, from around the world). Being in Costa Rica learning Spanish and still leading the parish back in Toronto and transitioning into FrancisCorps… I figured I had enough on my plate. But how exciting is that, about that bloggers’ summit. Some really good bloggers have been invited and I’m sure there will be more opportunities for these kinds of meetings 🙂

Anyways… before I go… from one of the wonderful friars here in Costa Rica, Toño, a little video to help prepare for the Holy Week maratón. The Franciscan aerobics!


