What do I do all day?

Someone asked me if I was going to miss parish life when I move to Syracuse and start working at FrancisCorps. They were suggesting that parish life was rather quiet and regular — liturgy, reflection and visiting people from time to time. I don’t think most people have any clue what a friar-priest working in a parish does all day. So here’s glimpse of today’s schedule:

  • 8:00 am: Morning Prayer (which I missed, slept in)
  • 9:00 am: Mass
  • 10:00 am: Counselling Appointment
  • 11:00 am:  Counselling Appointment
  • 12:00 pm:  Telephone meeting with graphic designer
  • 12:30 pm: Lunch
  • 1:30 pm: Planning meeting
  • 3:30  pm: Interview for Adult Baptism Candidate
  • 4:30 pm:  Meeting with Architects for renovation project
  • 5:30 pm: Dinner
  • 6:15 pm: Evening Prayer
  • 7:00 PM: First Communion Presentation for parents

In the midst of it all I am sure that there will also be questions regarding our Refugee Family that I’ll have to look at as well as other “fires” to put out. And… thankfully some time for quiet reflection in the evening and a little tv with the friars… humm, how can I squeeze Glee and Good Wife into this schedule???

I am soooo greatful that I am surrounded with great friars and lay staff and volunteers to share the load. Notice that I have very little to do with finances? It’s a blessing to also have a Parish Manager who also looks after that end of the ministry.

Will I miss it? How could you not! Parish ministry is so diverse, so challenging and constantly changing.  I look forward to the change with FrancisCorps, but I sure will miss aspects of this ministry.

